Don’t Call Your Auto Insurance Company Until You Understand Your Rights
In Texas, a motor vehicle crash occurs every 61 seconds. A person is injured in a crash every 2 minutes and 8 seconds and killed every 2 hours, 29 minutes. Behind these statistics are real people and real tragedies. If you are one of them, you do not want to be reduced to a statistic. You want the party responsible for your injury held liable. A personal injury attorney can help you receive compensation.
The Insurance Company Wastes No Time
If you were injured in a motor vehicle accident caused by another driver, it is likely you will hear from the other party’s insurance company and claims adjuster within a few days after the crash. At this point, if you are not still in the hospital, you are recuperating and worrying about when you might return to work and how you will pay your bills. The insurance company will likely offer you a quick settlement – but accepting it is a big mistake. Once you accept a settlement from an insurance company, you cannot come back and ask them for additional monies. That is why it is crucial to talk to an attorney before speaking with the insurance company.
The Truth About Insurance Companies
Insurance companies concentrate on paying out as little as possible for claims. It is in the interest of their business to do so. Insurance company representatives rely on the fact that many motor vehicle accident victims are still in a state of shock and want to get the matter resolved as soon as possible. Insurance pays for the following expenses – up to the amount of coverage on the policy:
- Funeral expenses
- Medical expenses
- Lost wages
- Pain and suffering
- Car repair
If the driver responsible for the accident does not carry sufficient liability insurance, many of those expenses are not fully reimbursed, let alone damages for pain and suffering. Severe injuries from an auto accident may permanently alter your life.
Minimum Required Auto Insurance Coverage in Texas
By law, Texas drivers must purchase auto liability insurance. However, the minimum amount required is just $30,000 for each injured person, topping out at $60,000 per accident. The minimum property damage amount is just $25,000 – not enough to replace many late-model vehicles.
How a Personal Injury Attorney Can Help
An experienced personal injury attorney will explain your rights and help you with your insurance claim negotiations. The attorney knows what fair compensation for a particular accident entails, and can evaluate offers made by the insurance company. While most cases are settled out of court, if the insurance company refuses to give you a suitable settlement, the attorney will file a lawsuit so you might receive the compensation you deserve. If the individual who hit you lacks adequate liability insurance but has other assets, you may file a lawsuit against this person.
Contact Branch & Dhillon, P.C. Attorneys for a Consultation
Contact us if you or are a loved one have been injured because of another party’s negligence and you need the services of an experienced personal injury attorney at Branch & Dhillon, P.C.